BENEFITS DIGEST

Primary sources. Practical insight. Every weekday.

A publication of The Inner Firm

Group Life Insurance

24 item(s) · sort: newest first · title A–Z

Supreme Court Declines to Hear Ruby Tuesday Appeal in Equitable Surcharge Case
PLANADVISER 2026-10-15 · issue № 76
Summary

The Supreme Court has declined to review the suit by 96 former Ruby Tuesday managers and executives against Regions Bank over their top-hat plan, a deferred-compensation arrangement for a select group of managers and executives that sits outside most of ERISA’s protections. The [Sixth Circuit](https://digest.theinnerfirm.com/docs/aldridge-v-regions-bank-opinion-2025-07-17.pdf) had rejected their state-law claims and the money remedy they sought, called a surcharge, in a dispute over accounts informally funded with corporate-owned life insurance. PLANADVISER also describes the government’s argument that the case was a poor vehicle for the broader question about equitable monetary relief under ERISA. The denial leaves the Sixth Circuit’s outcome in place without endorsing its reasoning.

When an Employer’s Premium Withholding Can’t Rewrite the Plan: District Court Denies ERISA Life Insurance Benefits and Civil Penalties on a Default Judgment Motion
Roberts Disability Law 2026-10-16 · issue № 76
Summary

A widower sued his late husband’s employer after discovering that the company had withheld life-insurance premiums matching the $300,000 coverage his husband elected while actually enrolling him for $50,000. In an October 13 [opinion](https://digest.theinnerfirm.com/docs/thomas-v-uacj-opinion-2026-10-13.pdf) Roberts Disability Law examines, Chief Judge Hala Jarbou of the Western District of Michigan denied default judgment for the remaining $250,000 because the plan unambiguously capped his coverage at $240,000 under its salary-based formula and required proof of good health for amounts over $100,000 that was never submitted. Premium withholding could not rewrite those written terms, and the court declined document-request penalties because no prejudice was shown. The takeaway for administrators is that enrollment systems and payroll need to match the plan, because deductions alone do not rewrite it.

The Friday Five: Five ERISA Litigation Highlights - October 2026
Saul Ewing · via JD Supra 2026-10-02 · issue № 71
Summary

Saul Ewing’s monthly roundup examines how courts evaluate disability evidence. A Massachusetts court rejected every argument a claimant raised against a benefits termination, including his attempt to rely on a physician report submitted nine months after the final appeal decision, which the court would not consider. A California court said an insurer need not take subjective complaints at face value. An Oregon court reinstated benefits for a claimant with young-onset Parkinson’s disease, crediting her personal statements and treating physicians over doctors who reviewed the records without examining her. The Eighth Circuit refused to credit a treating physician who said the claimant could do seated work for two years and changed his opinion only after benefits were terminated. And an Alabama dispute over who should receive life insurance proceeds went to the insured’s daughters, after the court found a telephonic beneficiary designation invalid under the policy and the purported marriage void, noting that federal courts routinely look to state law to identify a spouse under an ERISA plan.

Lockton’s Own Employees Sue Over the Voluntary Benefits It Brokered for Itself
Class action complaint · W.D. Mo. 2026-10-01 · issue № 66
Summary

Lockton runs one of the country’s largest insurance brokerages, and two of its employees now claim it put itself on both sides of its own benefits plan. Lockton sponsors its welfare plan and serves as the plan’s named fiduciary, and the complaint alleges it also installed itself as the plan’s broker. In that role, the suit says, Lockton picked the carriers for employee-paid products from life insurance to long-term disability, set its own commission and fee structure, and let carriers build that compensation into the premiums employees paid by payroll deduction. The complaint puts that compensation at $3.3 million from 2020 through 2024, drawn from the plan’s own government filings, with some fees routed through a benefits-communication firm Lockton fully acquired in 2025. The claims accuse Lockton of using its position to benefit itself at employees’ expense, and the relief sought includes repayment of the allegedly improper compensation and appointment of an independent person to oversee the plan. Capozzi Adler filed October 1 in Kansas City federal court, the latest in a wave of voluntary-benefits suits filed since December 2025. Lockton hasn’t yet responded in court.

Employer Must Face Claim Over the Life Insurance Offer It Never Relayed
D.N.M. · Vigil v. Taos Ski Valley · judgment on the pleadings denied 2026-09-25 · issue № 64
Summary

After an employee died, his life insurer offered to reinstate his lapsed coverage if about $1,300 in back premiums were paid. His widow alleges that Taos Ski Valley declined the offer without telling her, and that she would have paid the premiums herself to preserve the $95,000 policy. Judge Kea Riggs allowed her claim seeking the lost insurance benefits to proceed, holding that ERISA's equitable remedies provision permits make-whole monetary relief against a fiduciary for this kind of breach, and that the remedy doesn't require tracing the money to any particular fund. The ruling decides only that the claim may go forward; an earlier theory failed against documents showing the employer answered a 2023 inquiry promptly. [Roberts Disability Law's analysis](https://robertsdisability.com/erisa-surcharge-against-an-employer-fiduciary-new-mexico-district-court-lets-a-lapsed-group-life-insurance-claim-proceed) flags the duty at the center: a fiduciary must share material information about coverage with the people it affects, even when no one asks.

Why an ERISA AD&D Claim Can Fail When a Stroke Precedes a Fatal Fall
Roberts Disability Law · Tegu-Watkins v. Hartford, No. 8:24-cv-2722 (M.D. Fla.) 2026-09-28 · issue № 62
Summary

A lead mechanic suffered a stroke at home, fell, struck his head, and died three days later. The autopsy called the death an accident caused by the fall, with the stroke contributing. His widow sought the accidental death benefit under the employer's group policy, which pays only for injuries independent of illness, and Hartford denied the claim because the fall followed an acute stroke. The court ruled for Hartford on September 25, concluding that the denial was correct even when reviewed independently. A medical examiner's finding that a death was accidental did not settle the insurance question, because this policy also required the injury to be independent of illness. Participants rarely learn that distinction until a claim, which makes it worth a line in benefits communications.

When an ERISA Beneficiary Change by Phone Call Fails: N.D. Alabama Enforces the Plan's Written-Designation Requirement and Voids a Bigamous Marriage
Roberts Disability Law 2026-09-03 · issue № 46
Summary

In Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Williams, a General Motors life insurance participant tried to name a new beneficiary in a 2020 phone call to MetLife, and the court held the attempt failed because the plan required a signed written designation, with phone elections covering enrollment only. The court declined to apply substantial compliance, and under the plan's fallback provision the claimant could take only as a surviving spouse, a status the court rejected because her marriage to the participant was void under Georgia law while her prior marriage remained undissolved. The participant's daughters prevail, and the contrast with last week's Liu v. Kaiser is instructive. A requirement written into the plan gets enforced; a procedure that lives only in administrative practice does not.

ERISA Long-Term Disability Denial Upheld: Eighth Circuit Affirms Unum Termination Where Treating Doctor's Own Records Supported Sedentary Work
Roberts Disability Law 2026-08-29 · issue № 42
Summary

In Halloran v. Unum Life Insurance Company of America, No. 25-2550, 2026 WL 2545315 (8th Cir. Aug. 28, 2026), a panel of Chief Judge Colloton and Circuit Judges Gruender and Kobes, with Judge Kobes writing, affirmed the termination of a claimant's ERISA long-term disability benefits. The slip opinion appears in Court Decisions above.

Fifth Circuit Affirms Summary Judgment for MetLife on De Novo Review, Holding LTD Claimant Was Not Totally Disabled and Declining to Resolve Choice-of-Law Dispute Over Dueling State Bans on Delegation Clauses
Roberts Disability Law 2026-08-28 · issue № 42
Summary

In Grice v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, No. 25-50566, 2026 WL 2519457 (5th Cir. Aug. 26, 2026), a per curiam opinion, the Fifth Circuit affirmed the district court's grant of summary judgment to Metropolitan Life Insurance Company in this ERISA action challenging the denial of long-term disability benefits.

Third Circuit Vacates Dismissal of Hospitals’ ERISA Underpayment Claims Under MRC-1 and MRC-2 Plans
Roberts Disability Law 2026-08-27 · issue № 41
Summary

In Hudson Hospital OPCO v. Cigna Health and Life Insurance Company, No. 24-2830 (3d Cir. Aug. 26, 2026), the Third Circuit vacated the dismissal of three New Jersey hospitals' ERISA claims that Cigna underpaid them under the plans' MRC-1 and MRC-2 reimbursement provisions, while affirming dismissal of their reasonable-and-customary and fiduciary-duty theories. The partial revival sends a long-running provider-payment dispute back for another round on the plan-terms claims.

When Can an ERISA Claimant Get Discovery Beyond the Administrative Record? Court Allows Targeted Conflict-of-Interest Discovery in Long COVID Disability Case
Roberts Disability Law 2026-08-25 · issue № 39
Summary

In Mason v. New York Life Insurance Company, a magistrate judge in the Southern District of New York let a long COVID disability claimant pursue narrow discovery outside the administrative record, allowing targeted requests for the financial incentives and performance reviews of the employees who handled her claim while declining broader asks like aggregate denial-rate statistics. The takeaway: conflict-of-interest discovery fares better aimed at the specific people who decided the claim than framed as a search through the administrator's overall track record.

← All topics